simpleasebo.blogg.se

Bird of paradise plant
Bird of paradise plant




I barely remember to water it, but the bottom is all wet and mushy. The other half is smushed up against our house. I can’t reach the center) and leave all the healthy bits to so their thing (lots and lots of new leaves coming in!), but…what more can I do? I’m going to try my hardest to cut all the rotten stems down as far as I can (It is a BIG bush. I’ve been hacking off browning leaves all day, and all of the leaves that are significantly brown or dry have that dark brown hard chute in the center. Half the base of the plant is dead stumps…either hard and dry, or wet and mushy. I never cut them that far down before…who knows how long they’ve been there. I’ve decided to really get after the rotten parts this time, and realized that there over a hundred rotten stem stumps at the base. Half the bush! A lot of stems of browning leaves looked healthy on the outside, but had a hard dark brown chute in the center.Ħ months later, we had 14 beautiful flowers. After 3 or 4 months, I decided to cut off anything dead. When I moved in, it had quite a few flowers. It’s easily over 6ft tall, and is as wide as the space allows. I’ve been here 2 years, and it was here before I got here. I have a massive bird of paradise bush on myy front porch. If you like bold tropical foliage and big bright blooms then it’s so well worth the effort. This plant is really easy to care for outdoors (it’s 1 tough puppy) but is a little more of a challenge indoors. If you can’t put it in the shower or put it outside in the rain, then wipe the foliage with a wet cloth every now & then. –> The leaves would greatly appreciate a good cleaning every now & then. This works slower but the effects last longer. You can also apply a 2″ layer of organic compost &/or worm castings in the spring. If it looks like it needs a little boost mid-summer, then do it again. –> In terms of feeding, you can give your Bird Of Paradise a drink with a balanced organic liquid houseplant fertilizer in the spring. A few handfuls of coco coir added in would be greatly appreciated. –> You want to plant it in a nice, rich potting mix. Or, you can mist it a couple of times a weeks. Set the pot on top making sure that no roots are staying soaked. –> Our homes tend to be dry so you can increase the humidity with a saucer filled with pebbles & water. This plant is susceptible to root rot so don’t keep it “mushy”. In the cooler, darker months be sure to back off on the watering allowing it to dry out before doing it again. –> You want to give keep it slightly moist by giving it regular water. By keeping it slightly potbound you’ll get much better blooms. –> Just like outdoors, it likes to grow crowded so don’t rush to do any transplanting. Be sure to rotate your plant (unless it gets light from all sides) so it grows evenly. Give the Bird Of Paradise as much natural light as you can – it needs this for foliage & flower production. How to care for Bird of Paradise indoors: This “mohawking” is NOT the way to prune these plants! They eventually came back just fine but believe me, it didn’t happen overnight. This is what the neighbors down the street did to the 2 Birds of Paradise on either side of their front steps. Here’s the picture I said that I’d try to find in the video.






Bird of paradise plant